Imbolc Weather!

Due to the impending snow and concerns about travel, tonight’s celebration will be postponed until the full moon on Tuesday, February 4th. Be safe! Here’s a lovely medieval poem in Brigit’s honour:

Fairy Tree in Connemara (K. A. Laity)

Fairy Tree in Connemara (K. A. Laity)

I invoke the patronage of Saint Brigit,with the saints of Kildare.
May they stand between me and punishment;
Let my soul not depart in vain!
The nun who used to ride across the Cuirrech
Was a shield against sharp blades.
She found no match save Mary;
I invoke my Brig.
I invoke my Brig:
May she be a protection to our company.
May her patronage assist me;
May we all deserve deliverance.

Source:

John Carey, ed.,
 King of Mysteries: Early Irish Religious Writings
 (Portland: Four Courts Press, 1998), 178.
